The profound realization about the stock

by regressada

I’ve saved the best for last on this, the last day of soup week.
The best being The Tale of Despereaux, by Kate DeCamillo.

This book, by its own declaration, is about soup.
the very first page says,

“THE TALE OF DESPEREAUX:
being the story of a mouse, a princess, some soup, and a spool of thread”

This story is also one of those story about stories…you know what I’m talking about?
A story about soup and stories.

That brings me to The Profound Realization I was waiting to have the other day about the stock:

The stories with soup in them that I like so much I like so much not so much because they have soup in them but because they are already good stories and the soup is just a perfect finishing touch.

To say it in a less long-winded manner.
My favorite soup stories are simply good stories with soup in them.

Good stock makes the soup.

Not particularly profound, i suppose. But tasty! Good stories are precious. They comfort, they inspire courage. I think Ms. DeCamillo knows this very well, too, and her little Despereaux learns it too.

How best for him to be brave?
He cleared his throat. He let go of his tail. He stood up straighter.
‘Once upon a time,’
he said out loud to the darkness. He said these words because they were the best, the most powerful words that he knew and just the saying of them comforted him.”

