Tawny Scrawny Soup

by regressada

You know how I said I could never make the Tawny Scrawny Lion’s soup the way the rabbits did?

never mind.

It’s one of the few times I’ve ever improvised soup  – and even rarer times that it WORKED!

I used fresh yellow tomatoes instead of carrots because I detest cooked carrots…so I guess it isn’t exactly Tawny Scrawny Lion’s sleek and buttery soup, but it was pretty darn close!

Remember? It was a carrot stew with fish and mushrooms and herbs.

And here’s what mine was made of:

the stock: fresh tomatoes and leftover beef stock from a roast my mom made.
the rest : baked talapia with pepper and dill, sliced mushrooms, spinach, and sage.

I thought the mushrooms were gonna be nasty in a soup, but they were surprisingly marvelous, adding a pleasant texture and taste. (it made me feel like a hobbit!) And the texture was just as I’d always imagined; smooth and buttery and savory.  My dad tried it and said it was the best soup he’d ever tasted.  No wonder Tawny Scrawny stopped eating monkeys! Hats off to the rabbits!

